Traffic Safety – Rules of the Road?

So the niece – armed with her relatively new permit – has been practicing her drivin’ around town. The process for getting a license is (thankfully) much harder these days so she has to do this practicin’ action for a few more months.

I’ve been driving, what, for *cough* years, so I’d like to think that I’ve got a pretty good grasp on some “good-to-know” tips for the newbie driver. Wanted to send a feeler out to all y’all as well and maybe, with enough feedback, I could send this on over to the niece to help edumacate her before she hits the open road.

What a thoughtful uncle right? 😛

K, so here’s mine. Add yours below won’tcha?

* When turning right at an intersection, pay particular attention to the car in front of you first. Make sure he/she is gone before proceeding.

– I know, I know… speeding, using your blinkers, and the more logical safety tips would’ve been more handy, but in my experience, this seems to be a very common mistake that we tend to overlook. I can’t count the number of times I’ve seen or heard about cars rear-ending the car in front, thinking they’ve cleared the way before punchin’ it. I would say worry about that car in front before even looking to the left for oncoming cars to merge into.

So wot peeps? What other “must-knows” can we arm the niece (and our other young drivers out there) with? Holla!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

