The Taking of the Last Name

There are peeps in two different camps on this one. I know this for a fact. And although it isn’t Survey Thursday yet, I thought it might be an interesting enough topic for us to chat about today. 🙂

I’m old school. I believe in the traditional way of wifey taking hubby’s last name upon marriage. And I know that’s very non-Nu Skool of me, and that all of these modern women will be attacking me, but sorry yo, that’s just me. I’m not saying one is right and one is wrong. Just the way a brutha thinks and feels ‘ass all! Sheez, no get all nuts!

And believe me, seeing what friends and my wifey have been going through for the last few months (and still!), I know the kinda trouble it is to change one’s name. Honestly, if I were a woman, I don’t know if I’d wanna do it. It’s a LOT of work. But as the boy, it’s flattering. It makes you feel complete, as a couple you know. Like you’re now a team… Officially. Naw-mean?

So what say you? Which camp are you in and why?

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

