Robots Don’t Cry

Over the weekend, I gathered with the in-laws to celebrate Mother’s Day. We ate, we had a few, we talked story. After dinner, we started watching this interesting documentary on KIKU-TV called 30 Kid, 31 Legs (sorry, best local link I could find), a story on a popular competition in Japan that pits its communities/cities against each other in a larger version of the 3-legged race. Thirty kids (from one area) tied together against thirty kids (from another area) tied together in a 50 meter dash. The first to successfully cross the finish line together wins. Sounds simple enough right?

Apparently, it’s not.

We all know just how hard it is to do the 2-man, 3 legged version. Well, try adding 28 more peeps to that party line! That’s why these kids take this pretty seriously and practice all year long for this annual competition. Which leads me to the reason behind this post.

Because they put in so much time and effort into perfecting their run, I can see the amount of emotion that can get caught up in it. So when they cried their eyes out after losing, and, ultimately, being eliminated, I could empathize with them. Well sorta.

For some strange reason, I couldn’t help but giggle a bit when I saw the over-the-top reactions of some of them (especially the coaches/teachers). I know you’re probably gonna think I’m some heartless robot, but really, it’s just a game. It’s not life or death. I’ve been an athletic competitor my whole life and never have I once shed a tear. OK, there was that one time we took OIA champs in baseball (Go Cougars!), but those were tears of joy, not sadness a-ight? *grin* In fact, I don’t think I’ve ever actually cried-cried in more than 20 years! *knock on wood*

Anyway, I digress. My point is, why cry, when there’s so much to be happy about in life right?

Talk to me:

  • Am I being too robotic/guy-like or do I have a point here?
  • Am I normal or should I see a doctor about my broken tears ducts?
  • What makes you cry? (family is the only thing that will get me a little misty)
  • Any good movies out there that could make me weep? I challenge you to find one. 😉
Tags: , ,

One Response to “Robots Don’t Cry”

  1. David Wins American Idol Season 7! | World Wide Ed Says:

    […] fell surprisingly flat. I was actually bored to tears (no, not real tears silly – see Robots Don’t Cry). […]

Leave a Reply

