Happy Boys’ Day, Boys!

Well, not really. Today is technically “kodomo no hi” (Children’s Day). But I say Heckwitdat! Like Timberlake says, “I’m bringing sexy back!” Girls of the world have their Hinamatsuri (Girls’ Day) every March 3rd, so we should have our own day too right? *grin*

So how did I spend Boys’ Day so far? Bleeding in a hospital bed. Well, not quite, but close.

In a softball game yesterday afternoon, I took my usual place at Shortstop. Nothing out of the ordinary. The sky was clear and the sun beamed down on us as always. In the second inning, a hot shot came scorching down my way. Again, nothing out of the ordinary. But today, for some reason, that scorcher decided to get nuts and take a bad hop on me. A bad hop right in my face.

As soon as it hit, I knew it was bad. Aside from the sound it made when it smacked me in the kisser, I could hear the reaction of my teammates as well as the other team. The “ooohs!” and the “ohhhhs!” were echoing.

As I slowly made my way back to my feet, I could see my shirt stained with blood from where I covered my mouth. I then ran my tongue across the back of my once straight teeth, and found a virtual rocky mountain side at the tip of my tongue. Three of my bottom teeth caved in from the impact and were loose. Coach John made me laugh by asking if they were crooked before, but I think he was serious in his questioning.

With an already depleted lineup (we had only 8 players) I told myself to “man up” and keep playing. Others kept telling me to go home or go to the hospital, but I wasn’t having any of that. Besides, the doctors probably couldn’t have done anything besides give me an ice pack and tell me to take it easy. The real “fixing up” would be the next day when I go to the dentist.

Which leads us to today, celebrating my Boys’ Day, getting a root canal and my grill re-rearranged for a whoppin’ $492 (after insurance!). Oh what fun.

One of my teammates Neil called me the “manliest of men” for continuing to play after the incident. I laughed not just because of the comment, but because right then, I knew it would make an apropos, “manly” post for WWE (World Wide Ed).

Anyone else with horror stories out there?

***WARNING***
The following photo is of my jacked up grill. For those who have a weak stomach, you may wish to take your mouse off that scrolly bar. For those daring and few, keep on a scrollin’ to check out the loveliness that is me (you’ve been warned):

Don’t hate me because I’m beautiful!
Don’t hate me because I’m beautiful!

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Happy Boys’ Day, Boys!”

  1. Getting Old? | World Wide Ed Says:

    […] a far too lengthy hiatus (thanks to my stinkin’ teeth), I made my triumphant return to boxing class at HMC last night (shout out to Kevin and the gang!). […]

  2. Happy Birthday to WWE-eeeeee! | World Wide Ed Says:

    […] think I’m finally getting the hang of this. No more posts about nails, my broken mandible or MMA. I heard you (or rather, I didn’t hear you at all in the comments) loud and clear. […]

Leave a Reply

